Council

The governing body of the Municipality of Central Huron is the Council. It consists of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and three Councillors from each of the two Wards. The ratepayers of the Municipality elect the Members of Council for a four-year term of office. Having both legislative and executive responsibilities, Council deals with matters that require policy direction, bylaws or bylaw amendments and responses or actions to pertinent issues.

Role and responsibility of Council

It is the role of the Head of Council (the Mayor):

  • to act as chief executive officer of the municipality;
  • to preside over council meetings;
  • to provide leadership to council;
  • to represent the municipality at official functions; and
  • to carry out the duties as the head of council under this or any other act.

It is the role of Council:

  • to represent the public and to consider the well-being and interests of the municipality;
  • to develop and evaluate the policies and programs of the municipality;
  • to determine which services the municipality provides;
  • to ensure that administrative practices and procedures are in place to;
  • implement the decisions of council;
  • to maintain the financial integrity of the municipality; and
  • to carry out the duties of council under this or any other act.

Council members and contact information

NamePositionPhone NumberEmail

Jim Ginn

Mayor

 

jginn@centralhuron.com

Dave Jewitt

Deputy Mayor

 

djewitt@centralhuron.com

Alison Lobb

West Ward Councillor

 

alobb@centralhuron.com

Adam Robinson

West Ward Councillor

 

arobinson@centralhuron.com

Michael Russo

West Ward Councillor

 

mrusso@centralhuron.com

Marg Anderson

East Ward Councillor

 

manderson@centralhuron.com

Dan Colquhoun

East Ward Councillor

 

dcolquhoun@centralhuron.com

Alex Westerhout

East Ward Councillor

 

awesterhout@centralhuron.com

Council Meetings

Regular Council Meetings are held on the First and Third Monday of every month at 5:00 PM, unless otherwise stated on our Council Meeting Calendar.

If you wish to address Council at a Council Meeting, please contact the Clerk's office by submitting a deputation request prior to 10:00 AM the Thursday prior to the meeting.