Community Safety and Well-Being Plan Huron County Oversight Committee

Community Safety and Well-Being for Huron County

DATE: October 18, 2023


Community safety and well-being are priorities in every Ontario community. Changes made to the Ontario Police Services Act in 2019 require municipalities to develop and adopt plans that address root causes of crime and complex social issues by focusing holistically on social development, prevention, and risk prevention. These plans – referred to as Community Safety and Well-Being (CSWB) plans – recognize that complex issues cannot be addressed in isolation or solely on an incident response basis. As such, municipalities must work on CSWB plans in partnership with multi-sectoral advisory committees that include representatives from social and community organizations, school boards, boards of health, the police service, and any other local service providers working to protect or enhance safety and well-being.

An oversight committee with multi-sectoral representation and reflective of the community has been formed in Huron County to guide initiatives, and address four identified priority areas of action as follows:

1: Mental Health and Addictions,
2: Housing Stability and Homelessness,
3: Domestic and Family Violence,
4: Community Security.

The oversight committee has identified a Chair; Deputy Mayor Marg Anderson (Central Huron Council) and Co-Chair; Councillor Anita Snobelen (ACW Council).

For more information about the Community Safety and Well-Being Plan Oversight Committee, please contact Michaela Johnston, CEMC, Accessibility and Health & Safety Manager, Town of Goderich at 519-524-8344 x212 or